Tennessee – Civil War Trails

Download the 2016 revision of the Tennessee Trails Map:

  • Tennessee Civil War Trails Map [pdf 1.2MB]
  •  Narrative [pdf 517K]

The Tennessee Civil War Trails program began with installation of interpretive signs in the Franklin area and in Blountville. More than a dozen signs in Columbia and Franklin outline a critical phase of Confederate Gen. John B. Hood’s 1864 campaign to regain control of the state.

New sites in Greeneville, Charleston, Cleveland, Gallatin, Jackson, Denmark, Granville, Summerton, Five Points and Nashville were announced in June 2009.

In September 2009, 18 new sites were added in the following counties: Loudon, Monroe, Cumberland, Sumner, Montgomery, Dickson, and Claiborne.

In December 2009, scores of new sites were added in East Tennessee – Charleston, Philadelphia, Loudon, Livingston, Monroe, Hilham; Middle Tennesse – Carthage, Gallatin, Castalian Springs, Goodlettsville, Springfield, Adams, Portland; and West Tennessee – Shiloh and Savannah.

Source: weaponsandwarfare.com

Original Tennessee Trails sites:

  • Knoxville
  • Blountville
  • Lenoir City
  • Johnson City
  • Pall Mall
  • Niota
  • Lafollette
  • Thompson’s Station
  • Columbia and Franklin
  • Mount Pleasant
  • Lebanon
  • Gallatin
  • Cornersville
  • Collierville
  • Lexington
  • Parkers Crossroads
  • Trenton
  • Camden

See also general information about Civil War Trails.